History and Historic Sites of the Valley * Then and Now Photos * Lost Crescenta * Rockhaven * Membership
As we continue to explore the history of Glendale, the Historical Society of the Crescenta Valley has been invited to tour a jewel in the crown of Glendale history.
The Doctors' House, an authentically restored Queen Anne-Eastlake style home built about 1888, is the result of a community-wide endeavor to preserve a reminder of Glendale's earliest days. The two-story house originally stood at 921 East Wilson Avenue. It became known as The Doctors' House because it was residence and office space for three prominent early Glendale physicians.
When it was threatened with demolition in 1979, local citizens, including the newly revitalized Glendale Historical Society, banded together to relocate it to Brand Park. They then carefully restored the house to its late 19th century appearance, and furnished and decorated it in the style of the period. The Doctors' office contains numerous medical implements and supplies of the era. The living rooms recreate the pleasant domesticity of late Victorian times.
We will be seeing the Doctors' House on the opening weekend of their dynamic new exhibit covering the 1918 Influenza Epidemic, that killed 50 to 100 million people worldwide, including many in Glendale.
The tour is free and open to the public.